Purchasing Florida Auto Insurance Is Easy If You Know Where to Start

User Rating:  / 7

When you own a car, you have a lot of responsibilities. You know you need to drive carefully, keep your car in good working condition and, most of all, make sure that your auto insurance is up to date and current at all times. Most states require all vehicle drivers to have current insurance at all times, although the exact requirements can vary from state to state.

As in most states, the state of Florida requires auto insurance on every vehicle that has four or more wheels. You must also have a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection and $10,000 in property damage liability. In addition, drivers who have been involved in a crash or been convicted of certain offenses may even be required to purchase additional auto insurance in the form of bodily injury liability coverage.

Regardless of the state you live in, it is important to be aware of the insurance requirements in that particular state, and that includes Florida auto insurance requirements.


Florida Auto Insurance Is Easy



Specific Florida Requirements

Laws regarding auto insurance vary from state to state, but in the state of Florida, there are a few things that newcomers need to know. These include:

  • All Florida auto insurance must be purchased through a certified agent that is authorized to sell their products in the state
  • If you are caught without auto insurance, your license can be suspended for up to three years, or until proof of insurance is provided
  • If you drive a vehicle in the state for more than 90 days total during a 365-day period, you are required to purchase Florida auto insurance
  • Florida auto insurance does not require you to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
  • Since 1971, Florida is one of many states with a “no fault” law that ensures that drivers involved in an accident will be compensated for their accident even if the other driver is at fault

If you are new to Florida, you can find out additional information on its driving and auto insurance laws by visiting



Driving While Uninsured Could Cost You a Lot in the Future

It goes without saying that if you are a licensed driver in the state of Florida, it is imperative that you purchase Florida auto insurance. Although the above-mentioned dollar amounts are the minimum coverage required by law, additional insurance is highly recommended. In fact, many insurance experts recommend the following:

  • Purchase collision insurance: this will prevent you from paying large sums of money should the accident be declared your fault
  • Purchase GAP insurance: this is especially important when your car is worth less than your car loan amount, which is quite common
  • Purchase extended personal injury protection (PIP) insurance: the coverage amount should be a minimum of $50,000 to $100,000
  • Make sure your coverage includes a minimum of $5,000 medical payment coverage to cover the amounts that PIP doesn’t cover
  • Purchase bodily injury liability: this is especially important when you have a lot of assets
  • Purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: a minimum of $100,000/$300,000 is recommended


When combined, you can receive discounts on most of these, and the total premium amount is usually less than you think. Checking with a licensed Florida auto insurance agent is your best bet if you are unsure about anything related to auto insurance requirements in the state.





How to Get the Best Rates

Finding the best Florida auto insurance rates is not difficult, because there are insurance companies that offer discount prices for excellent coverage. There are also websites that allow visitors to locate the best rate for them, and compare rates from various companies. The best thing to do is perform an Internet search of companies that will compare rates for auto insurance, and you should receive numerous websites to go to.

Of course, it is also recommended that you check out the companies you are considering, just to make sure they are legitimate. However, once you do this there is nothing wrong with choosing the company that offers the lowest rates on Florida auto insurance.



Tips When Purchasing Auto Insurance

The state of Florida, as well as many Florida auto insurance agents, recommends doing certain things when purchasing insurance, including:

  • Get a quote from up to three different companies, but make sure that the coverage you requested is the same for all three so the quotes are accurate
  • Always be honest when filling out your Florida auto insurance application, and let the agent know immediately if any of the information changes
  • Once you receive your official policy, it should include complete information on the coverage and benefits you are entitled to, including a breakdown of what the premium covers; any applicable extra charges; what is and isn’t covered, including deductibles and limitations; and information regarding cancellation and renewal of the policy
  • Keep track of when your coverage ends, so you can renew it before the due date even if the reminder didn’t come in the mail


Both the DMV and a qualified auto insurance agent can give you more recommendations, as well as explain anything you do not understand regarding Florida auto insurance rates or coverage.

Like most states, Florida requires that its drivers carry the appropriate amounts of auto insurance. Florida auto insurance agents can help explain the different types of coverage and will recommend certain amounts based on the information you give them. Since many people have second homes in Florida, it is important that they, too, purchase auto insurance to protect them while they are there. Knowing the laws and requirements regarding auto insurance is easy if you do some research on the Internet. Online, you can receive information on required coverage, the best places to get your policy and insurance agents that are located near your home or office.

Florida auto insurance is easy to buy, with many companies allowing you to purchase your policy online. Regardless of how you do it, it is important to remember that auto insurance is legally necessary in the state of Florida and, once purchased, will allow you to have peace of mind before getting on the road.